Brazilian Adventures // Photo Journal // pt. 3

The last of my Brazilian adventures!

Once we got settled into the house, the boys were able to go exploring.
Once we got settled into the house, the boys were able to go exploring.
IMG_8996_2

I curbed my homesickness with beautiful pictures like these. (My cousin and her niece)
I curbed my homesickness with beautiful pictures like these. (My cousin and her niece)

Getting our gym membership helped a ton too.
Getting our gym membership helped a ton too.
IMG_9032_2

Enjoying our first (contracted) race!
Enjoying our first (contracted) race!

This is just one of the amazing views on our way to walk one of the tests.
This is just one of the amazing views on our way to walk one of the tests.

These 'bridges' were nerve-wracking to drive over.
These ‘bridges’ were nerve-wracking to drive over.

Usually they were over small creeks and rivers like this one.
Usually they were over small creeks and rivers like this one.
IMG_9046 IMG_9047 IMG_9048 IMG_9050 IMG_9051 IMG_9053 IMG_9055

Never know what type of things you're going to find in the Brazilian countryside.
Never know what type of things you’re going to find in the Brazilian countryside.
IMG_9060 IMG_9061 IMG_9063

WATERFALL!
WATERFALL!
IMG_9066 IMG_9067

There was a ton of open space at this race and since Ian needed a chaser car to meet him at the end of each test, I decided to teach myself how to drive stick.
There was a bunch of open space at this race and since Ian needed a chaser car to meet him at the end of each test, I decided to teach myself how to drive stick.
IMG_9071

The dam.
The dam.
IMG_9074 IMG_9075

Nature's pom poms.
Nature’s pom poms.
IMG_9078

The Brazilian Stanley Hotel.
The Brazilian Stanley Hotel.

We were some of the first to arrive at the hotel. The main building can be seen in the photo below; but the one we stayed in was the Brazilian version of The Shining‘s Stanley Hotel. It was big and beautiful, completely deserted, and extremely creepy. The room had a row of metal lockers that I was too afraid to open, but fit perfectly into the 70s decor. It was actually an extremely cozy hotel and I would go back in a heartbeat. Except for one thing.

Introducing cockroach #2

I had gotten into the habit of checking every little nook and cranny, especially in the bathrooms because of my previous experience. After ten minutes of inspection I decided it was safe and started getting ready for bed. I was exhausted after being in the car for 9 hours, 1 of them spent driving around looking for the hotel, and was looking forward to getting some decent sleep. As fate would have it I was, again, just going about my business when I noticed a very large and dark spot crawling across the pink tile and settling directly above the door. It was a large bathroom and I was able to run out without him dropping on me. I proceeded to have Ian go into the bathroom and look above the door. It was then that I did probably the most embarrassing thing ever.

I cried. And I don’t mean tears of relief, I mean like can’t breath-anxiety-filled-panic-attack tears. I couldn’t stop. I manically raced out and locked myself in the car. Ian came running out after me, trying to get me to calm down. If you’ve ever had a panic attack, especially bug induced, you know that calming down sometimes isn’t an option. After about 10 minutes he left me to go and try and get the sucker out of there so I would come back inside. I think I cried for 45 minutes before being able to take a full breath.

Cockroaches 2 – Sammi 0

Setting up the tents.
Setting up the tents.
IMG_9083

Since the test were too far to walk the guys decided to all pile into Ute-gene. The roads to get around were far from being drivable in most vehicles, due to crazy rain ruts and steep climbs, without being filled to the brim.
Since the test were too far to walk the guys decided to all pile into Ute-gene. The roads to get around were far from being drivable in most vehicles, due to crazy rain ruts and steep climbs, without being filled to the brim.
IMG_9087 IMG_9095_2

Race time!
Race time!

Being study.
Being study.
IMG_9108_2 IMG_9110

YAY! My winners!
YAY! My winners!
IMG_9146

Ian using me as a bench at the gym.
Ian using me as a bench at the gym.

View out the hotel window.
View out the hotel window.
IMG_9172_2

We checked into this place after midnight. Luckily, it ended up being one of the nicest places we had stayed.
We checked into this place after midnight. Luckily, it ended up being one of the nicest places we had stayed.

Alfonso Claudio
Alfonso Claudio

I really wish I could get video to work on here because the decent into this valley was one of the most beautiful things I've ever seen.
I really wish I could get video to work on here because the decent into this valley was one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen.
IMG_9180_2 IMG_9182 IMG_9183 IMG_9185_2

These local kids hung out with me while I waited for Ian in between tests.
These local kids hung out with me while I waited for Ian in between tests.
IMG_9190_2 IMG_9204

I hope you all enjoyed my adventures!

Hugs & Kittens,

Sammi

Leave a Reply

