Brazilian Adventures // Photo Journal // pt.1

I’ve broken my posts down into months. These are some of the pictures from January. I mostly took videos the first week, but you can’t load videos on free wordpress ūüė¶ . [Maybe that means I should just get my own domain already.]

Flight 1 of 3.
Flight 2 of 3.
Flying high in first class!
Flying high in first class!
Made it to Sao Paulo. Onto flight 3/3
Made it to Sao Paulo. Onto flight 3/3
Next door to the hotel was a subway. Being jet lagged and starving, this was our first brazilian dinner.
Next door to the hotel was a subway. Being jet lagged and starving, this was our first brazilian dinner.
Hanging out at the shop means two things. 1. Wi-Fi 2. Bike work
Carlos, Ian’s mechanic and one of our favorite parts guys, Bruno. Hanging out at the shop means two things. 1. Wi-Fi
2. Bike work
Our first week at the shop was all about Ian's bike options. So it only seemed fair that I get my own bike too. (It was electric and awesome)
Our first week at the shop was all about Ian’s bike options. So it only seemed fair that I get my own bike too. (It was electric and awesome)
Still missing the amazing hotel breakfast. I have never had fruit that tasted so good.
Still missing the amazing hotel breakfast. I have never had fruit that tasted so good.

IMG_8500_2

Our first Brazilian BBQ. You think cheese curds are good? Wait until you tried one of their grilled cheese sticks. Seriously, sinful.
Our first Brazilian BBQ.

Stumbled upon this cozy cafe during a rainy night.

I have no words to describe how amazing their produce is. Untouched by all chemicals and lab treatments, they taste how God intended. Delicious.

We also discovered a grocery store.

Our first hiking experience was at a mining complex. This was the view from the parking lot.
Our first hiking experience was at a mining complex. This was the view from the parking lot.¬†Ian decided to take me hiking on this mining property because he had done some mountain biking there the week before. Long story short, Belo Horizonte is like District 12 from¬†The Hunger Games:¬†mining everywhere. They mine iron ore and we had already witnessed the destruction an ‘afternoon shower’ could do. There had been a storm sneaking up from behind the ridge and we got caught in a torrential downpour. We went back and forth for the first few minutes on whether we should wait it out or head back to the ute. It wasn’t until the lightning started hitting ¬†the ridge that we realized we were sitting ducks on basically the most electrically conductive mountain known to man. We went racing down a back trial hoping it would lead us to the right parking lot. There were a few close lightning calls and I was running blind, so it was a relief that about a mile and a half later we saw the gates. Our drive back to the hotel was a scary one since every gutter we drove by was pouring out gallons of water. It got to the point where we even started to worry about landslides because of how steep all the streets are.¬†I have¬†never seen so much water in my life but I guess that’s why they call it the rainforest.

Bamboo!

Snapped this while attempting NOT to have a panic attack. Foreign bugs and me don't mix well.

Strange cage/cave we found.

Half way up the ridge before it started raining.
Half way up the ridge before it started raining.
Ian's birthday was a few days after we had arrived. Our (already) friend Fred set us up to have dinner with another rider, whom is now one of our best friends down there.
Ian’s birthday was a few days after we had arrived. Our (already) friend Fred set us up to have dinner with another rider, whom is now one of our best friends down there.
Night lights at 'Pope square'
Night lights at ‘Pope square’ (click on the photo for a better close up)
Pretty lake at the entrance of a gorgeous neighborhood.
Pretty lake at the entrance of a gorgeous neighborhood.

IMG_8551_2

My daily view. There is a training center called Fast Brothers where Ian was able to ride the brazilian dirt for the first time.

Went to local museum and learned all about the history of Belo Horizonte. This tree was at the entrance and its easily one of the widest trees I have ever seen.
Went to local museum and learned all about the history of Belo Horizonte.
This tree was at the entrance and its easily one of the widest trees I have ever seen. I had to use panorama to get it all in one shot.

There you have it. My first few experience in South America. I was hoping to have more but we were only there for the last week and a half of January so there wasn’t as much to share as the next 2 months. If you guys would like me to elaborate or¬†have any questions about my trip, I would¬†love to answer them, so please feel free to leave a comment. I haven’t shared any of my photos or stories from this trip since I’ve been back so if I skimp out on anything I’m leaving it up to you guys to let me know. Hope you all enjoyed part 1 of the adventure!

Hugs & Kittens,

Sammi

Leave a Reply

