July Recap pt.1

No, my title is not a typo. I am very aware that it is now the end of August and, eek, time to start preparing for fall. Before I get too distracted by pumpkin everything, I want to share my July adventures with you. Every year, this month seems to be the busiest for me. First, its the 4th, then our family reunion, followed by about a million birthday; so now that my adventures have slowed down a bit, I finally feel like I have to time to share it all with you.

Going into July I was incredible torn. I was debating on whether I should get another, more serious job, or spend two weeks in Colorado (A race was cancelled and Ian was able to come home for a few extra weeks. You can read all about my struggles here.) On the eve of my final decision my dad called and wanted me to go and visit him in Georgia. The prospect of being able to enjoy one of the best summer months, allowed me to justify putting the job search on hold.

So I packed my bags and hoped on a plane 1 of 4 (minus two 16 hour car rides), the next morning.

Rather than write a really wordy recount of my adventure I’ve decided it would be best done through pictures. So here a short photo journal of romping around the East coast with my dad.
*Please forgive the picture quality/editing. My iPhone 5c isn’t the best and my computer is on it’s last leg so all my editing tools have to be done via mobile device. Ugh. If anyone wants to donate a Mac, I know a girl who is looking 😉

After spending a few days doing house work, we figured we deserved at least one day on the lake.
After spending a few days doing house work, we figured we deserved at least one day on the lake.
Being Dad.
Dad.
Being Dad.
Being Dad.
We stopped at the marina for some lunch where I had THE BEST salmon BLT. Cool fact: This is one of the biggest marina's in the U.S.
We stopped at the marina for some lunch where I had THE BEST salmon BLT.
Cool fact: This is one of the biggest marina’s in the U.S.
The fact that I had just eaten half a fish along with enough bacon to feed a family of 5, I was in desperate need of some exercise. So I swam across this little channel. Can you spot me?
With the realization that I had just eaten half a fish along with enough bacon to feed a family of 5, I was in desperate need of some exercise. So I swam across this little channel.
Can you spot me?
Lake Lanier is HUGE. Like 40 miles length-wise, huge. And the water really does look this tropical. It's one of my favorite places to visit when I go to Georgia.
Lake Lanier is HUGE. Like 40 miles length-wise, huge. And the water really does look this tropical. It’s one of my favorite places to visit when I go to Georgia.
After our lake day it was off to New Jersey! The traveling never ends.
After our lake day it was off to New Jersey!
The traveling never ends.
My Dad's high school buddy's daughter was getting married. YAY WEDDINGS!
My Dad’s high school buddy’s daughter was getting married.
YAY WEDDINGS!
We match.
We match.
The 3 Stooges.
The 3 Stooges.
I LOVE photo booths.
I LOVE photo booths.
The day before we went on a hometown tour. This tree is standing on the battle field where The Battle of Princeton was fought. This was a very influential fight during the American Revolution. THIS TREE IS HUGE!!! And how cool is it that it now one of the only things alive who witnessed such an incredible battle.
The day before we went on a hometown tour.
This tree is standing on the battle field where The Battle of Princeton was fought. This was a very influential fight during the American Revolution.
THIS TREE IS HUGE!!! ( I had to use panorama mode to take this photo) And how cool is it that it now one of the only things alive who witnessed such an incredible battle.
Albert Einstein's house at Princeton!
Albert Einstein’s house at Princeton!

image

Remenicing. My dad used to fly his plane from the airport next to his childhood home to this airport to then work as a taxi driver in the town of Princeton, to then drive to 'the city' (NYC) to work another job and go to class. Putting that kind of milage in day after day just goes to show how much different the work ethic was back then.
Remenicing. My dad used to fly his plane from the airport next to his childhood home to this airport to then work as a taxi driver in the town of Princeton, to then drive to ‘the city’ (NYC) to work another job and go to class. Putting that kind of milage in day after day just goes to show how much different the work ethic was back then.
From Princeton, we took my dad's old bus route (we're talking elementary school) to see if the academy he had attended was still open. It's amazing how much you can remember even after 40+ years. The building was still in use, run by some nuns. I don't think it is a school anymore, though.
From Princeton, we took my dad’s old bus route (we’re talking elementary school) to see if the academy he had attended was still open.
It’s amazing how much you can remember even after 40+ years. The building was still in use, run by some nuns. I don’t think it is a school anymore, though.
Next stop: His hometown airport.
Next stop: His hometown airport. The grandson of Thor Solberg still runs this airport. His wife remembered my dad from when he was a kid. How cool is that?! Especially since they are both 40+ years older.
My dad used to fly this plane after he first got his license.
My dad used to fly this plane after he first got his license.
This was the plane my dad used to practice with. Still in top working condition.
This was the plane my dad used to practice with. Still in top working condition.
It was really amazing to see where my dad grew up. He spent more time at this airport than anywhere else as a child. It lead to him achieving his dream of becoming a pilot and passing that legacy on to my brother.
It was really amazing to see where my dad grew up. He spent more time at this airport than anywhere else as a child. It lead to him achieving his dream of becoming a pilot and passing that legacy on to my brother.
Once we said our goodbye's, my dad drove less than a mile down to road to show me the house he grew up in.
Once we said our goodbye’s, my dad drove less than a mile down to road to show me the house he grew up in. This bench was put here by my grandparents and is still standing by the mailbox today.
I had no idea my dad grew up in the country. I felt like I was discovering a whole new person in my dad. When he was 18 my grandma made him plant all these trees when they were just saplings. Now they are giant and create a beautiful driveway.
I had no idea my dad grew up in the country. I felt like I was discovering a whole new person in my dad.
When he was 18 my grandma made him plant all these trees when they were just saplings. Now they are giant and create a beautiful driveway.
Since I had never really experienced the East cost we spent the rest of the day going on a historical journey.
Since I had never really experienced the East coast, we spent the rest of the day going on a historic tour.
This is one of the last covered bridges. It's one of those where only one car can go through at a time, sketchy!
This is one of the last covered bridges. It’s one of those where only one car can go through at a time, sketchy!
Next stop. Ice cream!
Next stop. Ice cream! Now I have no idea which road this is off of, but it is the first thing after crossing the boarder into Pennsylvania. Hooray for a new state!
Neither of us had, had real ice cream in years. It was heavenly.
Neither of us had, had real ice cream in years. It was heavenly.
I really REALLY love sprinkles.
I really REALLY love sprinkles.
Fun Fact: In Pennsylvania, or at least at this shop, sprinkles are called Jimmys.
Fun Fact: In Pennsylvania, or at least at this shop, sprinkles are called Jimmys.
We drove along the Delaware River looking at all these crazy old houses. It was epic. I've never seen anything older than, like, 150 years old in America; and here were house almost 300 years old! In this picture we are crossing over the Delaware back to New Jersey. This spot is know as Washington's crossing. (If you've ever seen the overly patriotic painting done by Emanuel Leutze, it's that one). During the war, good old George was try to get back to his troops without being seen by the German Hessian spys (Sleepy Hallow anyone?).
We drove along the Delaware River looking at all these crazy old houses. It was epic. I’ve never seen anything older than, like, 150 years old in America; and here were house almost 300 years old! In this picture we are crossing over the Delaware back to New Jersey. This spot is know as Washington’s crossing. (If you’ve ever seen the overly patriotic painting done by Emanuel Leutze, it’s that one). During the war, good old George was try to get back to his troops without being seen by the German Hessian spys (Sleepy Hallow anyone?). Obviously, he made it across unscathed and now it’s a national landmark.
The trip was over much too quickly. It was a really great bonding trip and I was sad it was over. This is the Budweiser plant next to Newark Airport. Reminded me of the Coors brewery in Golden. Oh Colorado, how I miss you!
The trip was over much too quickly. It was a really great bonding trip and I was sad it was over.
This is the Budweiser plant next to Newark Airport. Reminded me of the Coors brewery in Golden.
Oh Colorado, how I miss you!
I was able to see NYC from the airport tram (I've never seen it before!). It gave me a moment to process how great our trip had been and how excited I was to continue my adventures and reunite with Ian. If you haven't already, you can read all about my time with him in this post. Dad and I said our goodbyes and I hopped on a plane to Boston.
I was able to see NYC from the airport tram (I’ve never seen it before!). It gave me a moment to process how great our trip had been and how excited I was to continue my adventures and reunite with Ian. If you haven’t already, you can read all about my time with him in this post.
Dad and I said our goodbyes and I hopped on a plane to Boston.
I had to wait a few hours in Boston before hopping on flight 3/4. Reflecting on my trip made me realize how important history is. World history, family history; without it we never really know who we are. The past doesn't necessarily define you but it does effect you and I think it is really important to know where you come from.
I had to wait a few hours in Boston before hopping on flight 3/4. Reflecting on my trip made me realize how important history is. World history, family history; without it we never really know who we are. The past doesn’t necessarily define you but it does effect you and I think it is really important to know where you come from.

I hope you guys enjoyed my first photo journal. I will probably be doing a bunch more of these because it’s easier to give you all a clear timeline and pictures really can make or break it for me. Stay tuned for my next post when I tell you all about how one flight cancelation lead to some really awesome adventures.

Hugs & Kittens,

Sammi

2 thoughts on “July Recap pt.1

Leave a Reply

