Celebrate! 

As I lay here on this blowup mattress in Fergus Falls, I’m reminded that each day is how you make it. I don’t feel any different, I don’t look any different (seriously haven’t changed in over a decade), but I am different. Today commemorates the offical cause of my  quarter-life crisis.

Yes, ladies and gentlemen, today I am 25 years old. 

Maybe it’s because I’ve been running around the states for a month but I haven’t really given it much thought lately. After my decision a few weeks ago to just let it go and stop worrying about it, I kind of forgot it was happening. 

I didn’t actually know where I was going to be this weekend and I didn’t care. Right now though, I’m just happy to be around family and have something to distract me from the what-ifs. Like what if I had thrown myself a party or what if I had taken myself on a birthday trip? Would I then not have to worry about missing out on this momentous day?

Birthdays and holidays are important to me. I believe they deserve to be big deals. But I think I’ve finally be able to grasp that ‘big deals’ are what we make them. So today I’m deciding to throw my worries to the wind and treat today like the Brazilian Carnival and celebrate just because there are things worth celebrating. 

Instead of guilting myself into remorse about not having a proper ‘friends party’ or really any type of offical party for that matter, I’m going to enjoy the fact that I get to see family I haven’t seen in over 3 years. Today is also my aunt and uncles 50th wedding anniversary, which is definitely something to celebrate. I guess what I’m trying to say is that I’m going to find every reason to celebrate today. And so should you. Life is too short to not make a big deal out of even the little things. 

On that note, CHEERS! To the weekend. I hear it’s We Fest, too so if you can’t find anything else, there is always the existence of attractive country singers to celebrate. 

Hugs & Kittens, 

Sammi 

Ps how ironic that my birthday falls on Caturday?! 

**wrote this on my phone so no pictures for you guys today. But I promise to share my adventures of this past month starting next week. 

Leave a Reply

