Racing the Rain

I haven’t been able to share my wonderful week in Colorado yet. So sorry for the delays. The fact is, my time there was just so wonderful I forgot that it wasn’t my current reality. Everything came crashing down on me as soon as I got off the plane in Minnesota. I have been in a funk ever since but today I declare ” Funk no more!” I am tired of being tired and sad so I’m going to write about those good days and hope I can move onto the ‘smile because it happened’ part.

image
I am infatuated with this hat.

Wednesday: I’m back at the airport again, this time antibiotics coursing through my veins. I managed to snag the last seat on the first flight out and couldn’t wait to be back in mountain country, without the DayQuil hangover. When we landed, I hit the ground running determined not to waste another precious moment. Ian picked me up and I’ve already got big plans for the afternoon. As expected, he is feeling slightly under the weather and Dr. Sammi prescribed him with mandatory bedrest. I was sad he couldn’t come on the adventure but I had some major girl time I needed to attend to.  About two hours after my decent into Colorado I was halfway up a glacier. Saint Mary’s Glacier, to be exact. My old roommate and I have been struggling with separation anxiety and lack of hiking partners.

image    image

The hike was easy and she brought along my new favorite nephew.  How can you not fall in love with that face? Or this view?

image
I found this sign ironic.

 

image

We somehow manage to avoid the giant storms and I return to The Lonesome Cedar just in time to meet Ian’s family for dinner at our frequented Romano’s. 

Romano's!
Excited for some yummy Italian!

image

Thursday: Woke up to another sunny morning. Colorado has the most beautiful summers. And springs. And fall. And winter. Can you tell I love it here?  I decided to steal Ian’s car again because he has bike prep to do and I was off for another roommie hike!

image

We headed up the east side of Mount Falcon where we got an incredibly view of Denver. I tried to get a picture but none of them turned out 😦 .

image  image

 Last fall we walked to other side and there are renin ants of an old homestead that look like a castle.

 Then we hit up The Blue Cow for hummus and drinks.

Someone was tired.
Someone was tired.

Friday: Breakfast dates and race prep day.

With all the nightly rainfall and tantrum showers we had been getting (it’s been a very wet spring there) Ian and I decided against a street bike ride to breakfast. But no amount of rain could keep up away from the free beignets (bin-yays, more like bin-yeahs) at Lucile’s

Best breakfast place ever. They even make their own ketchup.
Best breakfast place ever. They even make their own ketchup.

True to all of our lovely morning trips, we made the walk down the path to Hudson Gardens to admire their now-flooded greenery.

 image  image

Spot the giant bunny.
Spot the giant bunny.
Just kidding. Small train tracks makes for big looking rabbits.
Just kidding. Small train tracks makes for big looking rabbits.

The sun started to come out so we headed down to Castle Rock to check out their version of Manutou Spring’s Incline.  This kid friendly version of only 200 steps, still caused me to work up a sweat and gasp for air like I was on Everest. Altitude is not always your friend.

The western view at the top.
The western view at the top.
image
The CR Incline. They also have a new zip line course here.

After taking in the view and hiking around the back, we headed to the best part. The park.  We first went down there strategically-placed slide, now named the Hip Crusher.  Once was enough and my bruises are still healing.  Then made some friends on the pirate-styled riggings. Aka the jungle gym made with ropes.
image

Ian trying to fight off the pain.
Ian trying to fight off the pain.
Our 'friend' photobombing
Our ‘friend’ photobombing

  By now it’s almost 4 and we decided, “Why quit while you’re ahead right?”. So we head back to Ian’s for lunch and headed off to go on a hike.  The trail we picked ended up being flooded by a once small creek turned ranging river, rapids and all. Okay, so it was a small river with small rapids but not something we would have been able to cross safely. I also thought about taking a picture but with nothing to compare it to there wouldn’t be much of an effect.  With floods on the mind we headed further west to see how high the Platte River was. As we drove on the road next to the river I was stunned by the amount of water in there. I mean, it just gushes and flows without any difference in volume. I have never really seen receding flood waters before and I can’t imagine how intimidating it is when it’s actively flooding.

 image  image 

By now it’s almost 7 and we get home just in time for dinner, successfully avoiding packing.

#nofilter
Best sunset view. #nofilter

Saturday: Rising early, we packed up the van, made absurd amounts of pasta salad, and cozied up for a nice long day in the van. Upton, WY was the destination of forced choice. Ian was going to race here for the National Enduro and it was new territory for me.  In the past year and a half I have managed to travel to 5 new states all thanks to Ian’s racing. Wyoming was beautiful but incredibly uneventful. Considering we were on the opposite side of the state from Yellowstone, it was expected. We got there around 5 just in time for the infamous spaghetti dinner. Then it was off to bed because tomorrow was race day.

Practice riding.
Practice riding.

To be continued…

I decided to break this adventure into two posts because there is just so much to tell! So if you’re dying to know if climbed any 14ers or how Ian did in his race you can either cheat and look at his Facebook or you can wait. I’ll post the second half of my amazing week out west tomorrow. So make sure to check it out!

Hugs & Kittens,

Sammi

One thought on “Racing the Rain

Leave a Reply

