Let’s Talk.

Header

Happy Wednesday everyone! I don’t know about you guys but today I am over it. Being that it’s hump day, I am so glad there are only 2 days until the weekend; but that still means there are 2 days until the weekend. You feel me? I’m going to keep today’s post a bit lighter and talk briefly about whatever I feel like because that is what us women do. We talk.

Seriously, if talking was an olympic sport, everyone and their mother would be nominated. Sadly, though, most of the talk we do isn’t really that good. That’s right I’m talking about gossip. It looks ugly on everyone no matter what accent you throw on it (sorry southern belles, can’t sweet talk your way around this truth).

FullSizeRender_3

Story time!

I went to the mall yesterday, because why not, and decided to take my time perusing every glorious goody that caught my eye. I walked into one of my favorite stores, Francesca’s, and was promptly ignored for the first 10, yes 10, minutes. The two sales girls were busy talking to each other a mile a minute about how one of their co-workers had acted the other day. I ignored it at first because I’ve had to work retail and understand that the boredom can really make you go crazy. Sharing in the gossip is sometimes the easy out.

It wasn’t until I heard one of the girls say something particularly nasty that I couldn’t stop from eavesdropping. Then she quickly followed it up with, “but she’s my best friend so it’s extra hard for me to deal with”. Now this is something I am guilty of; validated my gossiping with the closeness I have to the person being talked about. At that moment, though, I realized just how ugly gossip truly is, no matter how nicely you put it.

So I walked right up to her and said, ” That was a really mean thing to say about someone you consider to be your friend. Also, everyone in this store has been an audience to your drama and it really kills the shopping mood. I want to speak with your manager.”

Okay, so I didn’t really say that. Instead I walked up to her at the cash register and bought this adorable sunglasses case. [ It has a pineapple on it, I mean how could I not and the manager actually joined the conversation a minute after that so going to her probably wouldn’t have helped.]  I really did want to say something though. Girl on girl hate is not okay, no matter ‘who did what’. We are supposed to lift each other up, be a united front, like ‘Beyonce’or whatever girl power guru you follow.

I know we all talk because it is hard not to. Getting someone who agrees with you over a difficult situation can alleviate some of that stress. Let me tell you though, from experience, you can full on wipe out the problem if you just talk to that person instead of talk about them. It can also save a friendship.

Remember communication is KEY in any type of relationship.

So next time you’re hanging with your ladies over a glass of wine (or your boys over some beers) and you run out of things to talk about. Instead of going for the juicy gossip, why not ask about her. Get to know each other better, open up and start to develop those deep meaningful relationship everyone seems to crave so badly. The only way you’re going to get that is if you first, talk.

Hugs & Kittens,
Sammi

Leave a Reply

